Baltimore, Maryland – June 9, 2014 – The Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland proudly announces the 2014 recipients of the Maryland Pro Bono Service Awards. These statewide awards honor outstanding attorneys, non-attorneys, and programs that have made significant contributions to the delivery of pro bono civil legal services to Maryland’s low-income citizens.


Recipients of this year’s awards include:


            Judge Robert M. Bell Award

Barbara Bechberger, Esq. – Charles County


Lee A. Caplan Memorial Award

Wayne Clark, Esq. – Howard County


Young Lawyer’s Section Alex Fee Memorial Award

Max Brauer, Esq. – Baltimore City

Sarah Cline, Esq. – Montgomery County


Distinguished Pro Bono Volunteer Award

John Phoebus, Esq. – Somerset County


Herbert S. Garten Special Project Award

Wicomico County Bar Association Law School for the Public


Small Law Firm Award

Lawyer by the Bay – Queen Anne’s County


Pro Bono Program Award

Montgomery County Bar Foundation Pro Bono Program


All of the awards will be presented Saturday, June 14 at the Maryland State Bar Association Annual Meeting in Ocean City. The nomination process is sponsored and staffed by the Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland.


About Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland: Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland, Inc. (PBRC) is the statewide coordinator of volunteer legal services. Our mission is to promote equal access to justice in Maryland by coordinating and supporting volunteer civil legal services, providing resources and support for legal advocates for the poor and promoting cooperation within the legal community. For more information, please visit: